September

Ah, September. The end of one season and the beginning of another. This is the third year that I won’t be returning school (which is still weird…), and the first (of many!) in which I’ll look forward to celebrating my wedding anniversary.

Fall is by far my favorite season. That’s one of the reasons we got married in the fall. The weather begins to change bringing a reprieve from the blazing summer heat, and the warm “fall feeling” is conjured up.

The feeling is of new beginnings. During my school days it was the excitement of a new school year. Now, it’s excitement that the holiday season is coming up (yes, I love the holidays that much).

This time last year, the feeling was amplified as our wedding day drew near. After months of planning (and years of waiting), the day was finally within reach. Last September was filled with wedding-related events and also big life changes.

My wonderful maid of honor and her family threw an amazing bridal shower for me.

Bridesmaids

We were featured in the BIO section of the Washington Post Express!

My bridesmaids and I went on a sunset dolphin cruise and then to Hog’s Breath for my low-key bachelorette party.

I spent the week before the wedding in Florida. This time was used to finalize details and spend time with family and friends.

We celebrated at a wedding showerthrown by Shalimar Baptist Church.

Pink 🙂

David passed the bar and was officially sworn inas an attorney! We got our marriage license the same day since we were already at the court house (efficiency!). 

all that hard work paid off!

I caught up with friends, did a final walk-through of our venue and got pampered with my MIL and bridesmaids!

We rehearsed for the wedding and enjoyed our rehearsal dinner with our bridal party and close family members.

Rehearsal

bread sticks!

This year, I’m looking forward to our one year anniversary… and Seminole football!

What are you most looking forward to this fall?

Leave a comment

Filed under married life

Leave a comment