The Postpartum Ailment I Didn’t Expect

Before I had Claire, I spent a lot of time reading up on what happens before, during and after labor and delivery. I perished Pinterest often, followed blogs like ScaryMommy.com and The Bump. I even downloaded a couple of books.

Bleeding? Knew about that.

A stomach that still looks 6 months pregnant? Got it.

Fatigue and lack of sleep. Yup.

The postpartum injury that no one tells you about.

But I never expected what happened to me just a couple of weeks after Claire was born. None of the blogs mentioned it. My doctor never said it was possible. No preparation at all.

So what happened? I got painful tendinitis in my left wrist.

The official diagnosis is De Quervain syndrome. When I finally went to the doctor after weeks of pain (my husband made me go because he was tired of hearing me say “ow.”), as soon as I told the nurse that I had a newborn, she immediately realized what the issue was. My doctor said it’s a very common injury in postpartum women.

What does a wrist injury have to do with being postpartum? As soon as I tell other moms, they immediately realize why: when you become a mom, you also become ambidextrous. You have to use both hands to do simple tasks because you have a baby in your arms. And because I was so predominantly right-handed before Claire, using my left hand more often took its toll.

A steroid shot and a wrist brace was all it took to fix the issue. But boy was it painful — especially during diaper changes, making and washing bottles, and at random times!

4 Comments

Filed under parenting

4 responses to “The Postpartum Ailment I Didn’t Expect

  1. Katherine

    Oh no! So sorry to hear this, Lyndsi! I had DeQuervaines back in college (long before I became a Mom haha) and my doctor told me they also call it “new mom syndrome.” Glad you just needed a shot and a brace – I had to have surgery on mine…not a huge deal, but still no fun. Glad you’re feeling better now! Claire is such a cutie! Love seeing pics!

    • I remember you having wrist issues! I didn’t know you had that, though. Thankfully mine wasn’t that bad – it was more annoying than anything. 🙂 Congratulations on your newborn! Thinking about and praying for you all!

      • Katherine

        Well, it was one of many problems I had, but yeah, it’s such a crazy thing that you never hear about – your the second new mom I’ve heard who was recently diagnosed with it! Thanks! Hope to get to meet Claire and see you when we’re back in Niceville in August!

  2. Pingback: 2015: Year in Review | Lyndsi & David

Leave a Reply

