30 Days of Thanks: November 3, 2012

Today, I’m thankful for technology. It’s because of the Internet, personal computers and smart phones that I can work from home (or pretty much anywhere).

But technology helps us in many other ways. In my small group this week, we were focusing on two verses, Proverbs 31:14-15:

She is like the ships of the merchant; she brings her food from afar. She rises while it is yet night and provides food for her household and portions for her maidens.

We began talking about “maidens” or servants and how in this age most people don’t have them. However, one of the ladies brought up the point that things like washing machines and dishwashers are like our own personal assistants. Another lady who used to use a washboard to wash clothes recounted how much time it used to take her. Think about it — how much more time do we have nowadays because of things we probably take for granted, like dishwashers and microwaves. And I don’t know what I’d do without my iPhone or my laptop. I certainly couldn’t work from home and visit my grandma as often.

Leave a comment

Filed under 30 Days of Thanks

Leave a comment