Simple Fruit Salad

I love fruit. But if I buy just one type of fruit, say apples, I never eat all of it. Maybe I’m too picky but I think I get bored and tired of eating the same thing everyday.

But, I’ve found a solution — fruit salad! My grandma used to serve fruit salad during family meals, but she used canned fruit cocktail (to that I now say yuck) and just added in a couple pieces of fresh fruit.

I like to use fresh fruit (berries are on sale right now), but I needed some kind of syrup to make it a real fruit salad. I looked up recipes online, and many of them make it too complicated. I found this recipe and decided to use just honey and lemon juice for the syrup.

Image

In my fruit salad:

  • 2 bananas, sliced
  • 1 pint strawberries, washed and quartered
  • 1 pint blueberries
  • 1 red apple, chopped

Dressing:

  • 1/3 cup honey
  • juice of 1 lemon (helps prevent fruit from becoming brown)

Directions:

Put the fruit in a bowl. Mix the honey and lemon, and pour over the fruit. Refrigerate. Eat.

How easy is that? Of course you use whatever fruit you want.

3 Comments

Filed under married life

3 responses to “Simple Fruit Salad

  1. oh my goodness, I LOVE fruit salad! This has my mouth watering 🙂 mmmmm…tasty sounding recipe. I don’t usually do the syrup, but I think I will now!

    • It’s delicious! I like to buy the fruit salad at Publix and Fresh Market, but it’s expensive. And it doesn’t really take that much time to cut the fruit. Plus, I think the syrup brings it all together.

      • Yeah, there’s only one grocery store around here on par with Publix/Fresh Market in terms of quality, but we also have the benefit of great farms and farmer’s markets in the area selling local produce, which is cheaper than any grocery store and SO good and fresh! Definitely worth the chop time 🙂 I’m excited to go stock back up and try your recipe 🙂

Leave a Reply

