Spaghetti with red onion, ricotta cheese and spinach

Recently, I’ve been making an effort to use up food we have in the house. I noticed that I would buy something for a specific recipe, but then I don’t use all of it. Ricotta cheese, sour cream, cream cheese, fresh produce … the list of things I tend to find in my fridge that are old could go on and on. That’s why I hate it when recipes call for half of something (like half of an onion), because I’m not good at using the other half unless I have a recipe in front of me that calls for half of an onion, too, which usually never happens.

This recipe is a result of this new effort, and the fact that I didn’t feel like buying a lot of the stuff at the grocery today. Even though I didn’t have a recipe (which is new for me … I always have to have a recipe or else I’m afraid it won’t taste good), I think this is going to be one of my new favorite meals. It’s simple, uses ingredients I usually have on hand anyway, and it tastes amazing. Awesome.

Ingredients

  • 1 box of spaghetti
  • 1 lb ground round (or whatever ground meat you prefer or is on sale).
  • 1/2 tbsp olive oil (to cook the onion in)
  • 1/2 red onion, chopped (This was left over from another meal I made this weekend. You could also use a white or yellow onion.)
  • 3/4 cup ricotta cheese 
  • 1/2 bag of spinach (save the rest to use in smoothies)
  • 1 24 oz jar of Ragu (I used traditional; use whatever you prefer or have on hand)

Method

  1. Boil your water. Add the spaghetti once it’s boiling and cook according to package directions.
  2. Brown the meat in a medium saute pan. Drain the fat and set aside. Rinse the pan and use it to cook the onion.
  3. Heat olive oil in the saute pan. Add onion and cook for 2-3 minutes.
  4. Add the browned meat to the pan with the onion and cook for 2-3 more minutes.
  5. Add the ricotta to the pan and mix well so it melts with the meat and the onion.
  6. Put spinach in a strainer and strain the cooked pasta over the spinach. The hot pasta water will wilt the spinach. (I learned this trick from Julie at Peanut Butter Fingers and it works perfectly.)
  7. Combine all of the ingredients in the pot you boiled the pasta in.
spaghetti with red onion, ricotta cheese and spinach

Easy and delicious spaghetti dish

Serve with grated parmesan cheese!

Leave a comment

Filed under married life, Recipes

Leave a Reply

