A time to mourn; a time to dance.

Dance Facets 2012 is today and tomorrow (Friday and Saturday) at the Mattie Kelly Arts Center in Niceville. This year’s line up of dance pieces is incredible and wide-ranging, featuring contemporary ballet, modern, tap and even a tech-heavy multimedia piece inspired by the movie “Tron.” It’s going to be, in a word, fantastic.

I’m really excited about this because it’s the first time I’ve been on stage in almost five years. And, after performing every.single.year since I was in elementary school until I moved to D.C., I’ve missed it. But this is almost the first performance I’ve been in since my mom passed away.

“Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.” – Matthew 5:4

Anyone who has lost a loved one — whether a friend or blood relative — understands what it means to mourn. Yet there’s nothing comparable to losing a parent, especially a single parent. How easy it would be to give up and fall into bad habits after losing the one human who has sustained you on earth. But the time to mourn has passed. God’s undeniable and inexplicable peace has comforted me over the past three years, and His Spirit has strengthened me and led me back to the dance studio.

“… a time to weep and a time to laugh; a time to mourn and a time to dance.” – Ecclesiastes 3:4

Although I love dancing and being on stage, this weekend is about more than that to me. It’s about using the talent given to me by God and nurtured by my mom to be grateful for not only what my mom gave me during her short life, but also for the peace and comfort that can only come through Jesus Christ.

So tonight, I dedicate my performance to my mom, and to my God, who gives us a season to mourn, and then a season to dance.

1 Comment

Filed under Christianity

One response to “A time to mourn; a time to dance.

  1. Pingback: From 24 to 25 | Lyndsi & David

Leave a Reply

