Freezer Breakfast Burritos

Breakfast is the most important meal of the day, but who wants to get up even earlier than you have to on weekdays to cook? OK, so I work from home, but David has to leave early — and sometimes doesn’t get to take a lunch break until 3 p.m. — so he needs a filling, long-lasting breakfast. And I don’t want to have to do the dishes every single morning. So when I came across this recipe for freezer breakfast burritos, I knew I had to start making them.

Pin It

These are very simple to make. And while the author of the post I’m linking to makes them for months at a time, I’ve been making them for a week at a time. Because I’m weird and even if I think food might be bad, I can’t eat it.

Another thing that’s great about this is you can cook all of this in the same pan. Glorious! Below is the rough recipe I use for a week’s worth of breakfast burritos, but you can add in almost anything you want.

Ingredients

  • 1 lb Jimmy Dean® maple sausage
  • 1 package Simply Potatoes shredded hash browns {plus 3-4 tablespoons of canola oil}
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 medium green pepper, chopped
  • 6-8 eggs {depending on how many I have :-)}
  • 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • 10 flour tortillas

Method

  1. In a large, nonstick skillet, cook the sausage. Then drain it, set it aside, and quickly wash out the pan.
  2. Heat 1-2 tablespoons of canola oil over medium-high heat in the same pan. Then add the hash browns and cook for 6-7 minutes. Add another 1-2 tablespoons of oil, flip the hash browns, and cook for another 6-8 minutes. Once cooked, put the hash browns aside with the sausage.
  3. Beat the eggs with a whisk until the yokes and whites are combined. Turn the heat down to medium-low and add the eggs, onion and green pepper to the pan. Cook the eggs like you’re scrambling them.
  4. Once the eggs are cooked, remove from heat and add the sausage and hash browns to the pan, and combine. Sprinkle cheese on top.
  5. In another pan (I use either a wok or a small skillet) over low heat, slightly soften one tortilla until it is pliable.
  6. Put the softened tortilla on a plate, and spoon some of the egg/hash brown/sausage mixture into the tortilla. I usually put about 4-5 heaping spoonfuls of mixture into each tortilla.
  7. Fold the tortilla over the mixture like a burrito. Click here for instructions. {This is the part I don’t do so well at}
  8. Wrap the burrito in plastic wrap, and put it in a large ziplock bag.
  9. Repeat steps 5-8 above until all tortillas are filled and packaged. Place the ziplock bag in the freezer, and enjoy!

While you’re making these, you can expect your dog to be at your side begging for scraps. 🙂 And when he doesn’t get any, he will go into his kennel and pout.

When I’m ready to eat one, I take it out of the plastic wrap, put it on a plate, and microwave it for about 2 minutes. Then I flip it, and microwave for another 30 seconds. Enjoy!

3 Comments

Filed under Recipes

3 responses to “Freezer Breakfast Burritos

  1. Breakfast burritos are the only way I can shut the kids up on a Sunday morning!

  2. Heidi @ HotCouponWorld

    Awesome, thanks for linking to my recipe, I am so happy that it inspired you to make your own version. I bet your version tastes great with the maple sausage!

Leave a Reply

