Cheesy Fried Ravioli

A couple of years ago when I was living in D.C., David and I went to a restaurant called Ketchup in National Harbor and had fried ravioli. It was amazing. We’ve been talking about it ever since, and when I found a recipe for fried ravioli a few days ago, I was anxious to make it myself.

whole wheat four cheese ravioli

Walking through Publix yesterday, I spotted these packages of cheese ravioli that were on sale (and you know my love for sales), and decided it would be a good time to try my hand at making fried ravioli.

I mostly followed Joelen’s recipe, which you can find here. The breading consisted of Italian seasoned bread crumbs, garlic powder, oregano, basil and thyme. I coated the raviolis in a mixture of one egg and two tablespoons of milk, and then covered them in the breading.

breaded and ready to go

Then, into the hot oil they went!

looking good

We heated up leftover pasta sauce (which happened to be four cheese marinara) and poured it over the ravioli. To top it off, we grated fresh Asiago cheese.

Asiago = my new favorite cheese

The meal was served with fresh French bread from the Publix bakery.

four cheese ravioli + four cheese marinara + fresh Asiago cheese = extra cheesy

This was definitely a winner. We both devoured the ravioli and enjoyed every bite. The only thing we’ll change next time we make it is to add a vegetable to balance out the meal. πŸ™‚

Leave a comment

Filed under married life, Recipes

Leave a Reply

