Recipe: Chocolate Chip/Heath Bar Toffee Cookies

One of the wedding gifts I was most anxious to try out was our big, beautiful Kitchenaid stand mixer. More than eight months later, I finally used it!

Beautiful.

I went to L.A. on a work trip a few weeks ago, and while I was there I started telling one of the ladies I had dinner with about how I was anxious to use the stand mixer. Luckily, she loves cooking and baking and offered to send me a few of her favorite recipes that are good for beginners like me. 🙂 This recipe is courtesy of her — thanks Annette!

I wanted to make something different, not just plain chocolate chip cookies, but not too difficult, so I was excited to receive this recipe for chocolate chip/heath bar toffee cookies. Although I wasn’t sure I was doing everything right (which attachment do I use??), the cookies came out great! I was planning to make these for our new neighbors, but I don’t know if I can give them up… 🙂

Ingredients [Makes 42 cookies]

  • 2 1/4 c. all-purpose flour [you could use 1 cup regular flour & 1 ½ cup brown rice flour]
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 c. (1 stick) + ¼ c. butter
  • 3/4 c. white sugar
  • 3/4 c. packed DARK brown sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 c. Heath bits [you could use (4) 1.4 oz. Heath Bars – crushed; pound into bits with flat side of meat tenderizer]
  • 1 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips [you could substitute white chocolate chips or use a mixture — but I love the semi-sweet chocolate!]

Ingredients.

Directions
Preheat oven to 375. In a small mixing bowl, combine flour, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.

Combine brown sugar, white sugar, butter and vanilla in a large bowl until well-blended.

Interesting... Am I doing it right??

Add in eggs and beat well. Slowly add in flour mixture and mix until combined. Add in chocolate and then mix the toffee bits until they’re just combined.

ahh... that looks like dough!

Drop dough (use a cookie scoop) onto cookie sheets and bake 8 to 10 minutes.

hmm... I could work on my scooping skills.

I like my cookies relatively crunchy, so I put them in the oven for the full 10 minutes. Yum!

Which one shall be the first to go?

3 Comments

Filed under married life, Recipes

3 responses to “Recipe: Chocolate Chip/Heath Bar Toffee Cookies

  1. Pingback: Steak Kabobs + Peanut M&M Cookies « Lyndsi & David

  2. Pingback: Chocolate Chip and Pecan Cookies | Lyndsi & David

  3. Pingback: Holiday weekend + pizza bread | Lyndsi & David

Leave a Reply

