The Plight of a Hyper Puppy

We love Charlie because he is playful, energetic, always excited to see you and an all-around happy puppy. Sometimes, his energy goes too far.

Why are you taking pictures of me?

That’s right — my workout buddy is injured. 😦 He broke is right front leg about two weeks ago and had to have surgery. Yes, surgery. We took him to Auburn Univeristy’s Small Animal Hospital (a four-hour drive) last Monday, he had surgery on Tuesday, and he came home on Saturday.

I don't know why I am here, but I don't like it!

Apparently, the type of break he incurred is common. It also was complicated to fix since it was very near the elbow joint, so if for some reason Charlie breaks it again, it wouldn’t be fixable.

My leg is bald and I have a cone on my head. Haven't I been through enough?!

So, we have to keep him in his kennel for four weeks (we can take him outside to go potty), and then we have to keep him on a short leash for another four weeks, which means he’ll be in his kennel a lot for the next eight weeks.

If I look sad enough, I think they'll let me out!

But, he’s getting his stitches taken out on Friday, which is when the cone can come off! That’s good news since he hates that thing.

This is just wrong. I'm just a puppy!

Throughout this process, Charlie has improved upon his already uncanny ability to garner sympathy, and has learned new noises to make to let us know he’s not happy. Let’s just hope he doesn’t have any more injuries!

2 Comments

Filed under Charlie

2 responses to “The Plight of a Hyper Puppy

  1. Pingback: Six Months Down « Lyndsi & David

  2. Pingback: One Year: How Far We’ve Come | Lyndsi & David

Leave a Reply

