Let them eat cake.

Last weekend was a very productive one in terms of wedding planning. Since my birthday was on Saturday (I turned 23… how crazy is that?!) and there are now less than two months until the wedding, I headed back to Florida for a few days to get some of the details locked in.

I was supposed to get in on Thursday night, but D.C. weather didn’t cooperate and my flight was canceled so I ended up leaving D.C. at 5:45 AM on Friday morning. Unfortunately, this meant some of my appointments had to be canceled. But I was honored to share a flight into VPS with a soldier returning from Iraq.

Welcome home, soldier.

First, we met with our cake lady – Betty Weber of Creative Confections – to determine our wedding cake design. I actually found her on Facebook and kept checking her page for new pictures of cakes. That’s when I knew we had to have her create our wedding cake and Groom’s cake. We decided on a three-tier, square cake with buttercream frosting embellished with edible pearls and real roses. The Groom’s cake is sure to steal the spotlight, though, but I won’t tell you what it is because I want you to be surprised!

Pretty

After our meeting, Betty sent us off with very large cake samples which we couldn’t wait to eat! They were all so delicious, but we were finally able to decide which flavors we wanted.

Let them eat cake.

Choosing our cake design and flavors was a huge check and was so much fun! I also loved meeting our florist and seeing all of the beautiful things she had planned for us!

Before booking Bella Flora Weddings to be our florist, I filled out a questionnaire that detailed what I was looking for: pink roses, hydrangeas and floating candles for a modest price. Margie, who owns the company with her daughter, seemed to read my mind! Everything she had for us was exactly what I was looking for. She even showed us a picture of a South American rose (see the picture above) that she wanted to use for our wedding — David and I both absolutely loved it. These roses are some of the largest we’ve ever seen, come in every color and open like a peony while lasting for a good amount of time, meaning our flowers won’t be wilted by the time the reception starts.

In between meetings with the cake lady and our florist, we met with Jackie Gibson at the Emerald Grande. We started to choose our menu — looks like it will be a buffet with pork, mahi mahi, fruit, risotta and bacon potato salad. We also did a walk through of the ballroom and talked through where everything will be set up. They were setting up for a wedding for that weekend so we got to see what the tables look like with the white linens and standard place settings. We opted to not do custom linens or chair covers (I think they border on tacky), and seeing the tables set up confirmed that decision. The white looks great and the chairs are nice so any extra decoration would be unnecessary.

This was a great and very productive trip. The wedding is finally starting to come together and I’m getting so excited for it to be here!

 

4 Comments

Filed under wedding planning adventures

4 responses to “Let them eat cake.

  1. Pingback: Recap: Wedding Preparations Continue « Lyndsi & David

  2. Pingback: 2010: A remarkable year « Lyndsi & David

  3. Pingback: Restaurant Review: Vue on 30a | Lyndsi & David

  4. Pingback: Red Velvet Birthday Cake | Lyndsi & David

Leave a Reply

